Revisiting the Past

Hey Everyone!
First let me start by acknowledging how thankful and grateful I am over all the feedback I have gotten since I started writing again. It truly means the world to me to see that I am able to help people out through my own experiences. With that said, no matter how bad you may feel your journey is, never be afraid to share it. People will always judge you but don’t spend your time worrying about the ones who judge you, for they will only get in the way of your purpose if you allow their words and actions to seep in your spirit. Okay sorry now that I’ve gotten that off my chest, I am going to share yet another poem!

Background: This poem was written when I decided to see if there were still feelings for an old boo. I saw this person and soon realized that I had been making so many strides in the right direction and our relationship no longer served me. I want to encourage the man/woman on the fence of finally moving forward from a toxic situation(ship). Sometimes it’s best just to continue to move forward. Some people really are only meant to be in your life for a season. I think sometimes it is hard to accept that because when you care about a person, you don’t want to let them go but if you just continue to embrace the process, you will see that it will get better. I know there is someone struggling right now as I type this. You may be struggling with the fact that you have put so much into a person and it seems like you have to watch it all go down the drain and it hurts you inside. Well let me reassure you that what you have put into a person, even if you never get it back from them, it will come back to you. Do not be angry. Do not be bitter. Do not be revengeful. Be courageous by lifting your head high, adjusting your crown, and patiently waiting for the reward for all the good things you have sowed into this world. I love you King/Queen. You are more than enough and you deserve and will receive the love you deserve. Move forward gracefully.

 

Poem:

“Past”

I revisited my past today

but something about this visit was strange

I wanted so bad to have that connection again

but even beside you it was still out of range

A  feeling of confusion

Maybe even a slight feeling of regret

But the change I thought could never occur was happening

with someone I promised myself I’d never forget

I revisited my past today

but this time it felt like we’d never met

and the butterflies that were once activated by you

haven’t flapped one wing yet

A feeling of assurance

Maybe the confirmation I needed to obtain

with one foot out the door 

my mind already convinced me even being here was insane

I revisited my past today

to verbally say my goodbyes

but soon realized how unnecessary it was

’cause every feeling I’d felt in the past was no longer alive. 

I left my past today

and for once my heart mirrored my brain

& for the first time I noticed that walking away from you

was your loss and my gain.

Today was the last day I revisited my past.

Leave a comment