It’s all a Test: What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger

Well Hello Everyone! I know I have been MIA for a while but I am in transition right now. God is shifting me and I feel a lot of changes coming but I am putting all my Faith and Trust in Him.

I’m writing to you in the early morning hours to discuss the saying “What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger.” It’s 5:55 a.m and as I was laying in bed thinking about all of the things I had to do in a such a short time frame I became a little discouraged. I felt my eyes start to water and before I would allow any tears to fall from my eyes I closed my eyes and the first thought that came to my mind was “What Doesn’t Kill You, Makes You Stronger.” I can recall many times where I may have felt overwhelmed with situations or I may have been dealing with something(or someone) that hurt me and whether it was a friend, family member, or associate someone would always tell me “What Doesn’t Kill You, Makes You Stronger.”  So what exactly does that mean, and how does it really make you stronger? I must confess I’m guilty of it myself. There were times when a person may have come to me for advice and after I heard their problems I didn’t know what advice to give so I would say “What Doesn’t Kill You, Makes you stronger.”  It’s like the safe haven for practically any situation requiring advice. If there was a book on advice sayings I’m sure that saying would fall somewhere in the first chapter. Well today I just want to talk about it a little more so bare with me. We all know that life sometimes has a way of repeating the same type of situations in your life. It could be that you’ve dealt with a married man once, and now you feel like all you attract are married men. It could be that you’ve been cheated on and now all your relationships seem to involve infidelity. It could be that you find yourself being laid off or fired from your jobs and so on. I could go on for days but I just want to give a few broad scenarios to relate to. In each case can you recall someone telling you “It’s all a Test” or “What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger?” Well I know I can and after the first time I’m like you know what, they’re right and I DO get through it. Then shortly after I get through it, I am faced with it again and because I’m STRONGER I can face it again right? WRONG.

FAST FORWARD to 8 months later (I am picking this post up from when I started it back when I was in transition…back in August 2015)

Now when it presents itself the next time I’m like DAMN! What I do to have to deserve this again? I wasn’t stronger,I felt like I was just becoming more drained each time.  The truth is that saying is fitting when you only have to deal with something once in your life and never face it again, but like most of us when something happens once, its bound to happen again in some form or fashion, so how then do you “pass the test” or  “become stronger?” The answer is that you must first figure out what repeated action YOU are doing that keeps making this situation reappear. For example, if its your finances, you may have to re-evaluate your spending habits, if its your relationships you may have to re-evaluate your standards,attitudes etc., if its your job and you’re just not seeing that promotion you may need to re-evaluate your work ethic, or resume if you’re having a hard time finding a job. The moral of this is that God will continue to present the same test to you until you make the necessary adjustments within yourself. He wants to ensure that before He blesses you with Greater (cause believe me He has a Blessing waiting for you) that you know how to handle the very situations that are trying to destroy you. You have to OVERCOME those things and the only way God knows if you’ve overcome them is by putting you to the test. The beauty in that is that He never gives up hope on you. You can fail that test a million times and God will keep presenting it to you AND hold that blessing for you until you pass. Don’t be ashamed if you fail. I’ve failed too many to discuss in this blog and even when He gave me the answer key I still failed my tests so trust me I won’t judge  you lol. Your blessing don’t have an expiration date BUT you can delay them. With that said, don’t be afraid to switch things up on yourself once in a while, you never know what Blessing God has awaiting for you once you pass that test, and Hey, just remember…It’s All a Test and What doesn’t kill you….YOU KNOW THE REST 😉

Younger Self: If you keep doing the same things, you will continue to get the same results. If you want to see change you have to BE changed.

Future Self: Girl if you don’t keep pressing, if it didn’t work out how it was supposed to there are so many other alternative ways to try…Pick one…Don’t delay your blessings continuing to do the same thing that proved to be unsuccessful.

#passingQueen

Leave a comment